Mindful Mama

Alas, school has begun & because of this, I’ve neglected the other new addition I am attempting to foster and develop: blogging.

To catch you up: we’ve been educating ourselves on cloth diapers (learn more before you assume what it entails), interviewing childcare providers, finalizing the design for Baby Girl Teeter’s nursery (it’s changed over three times), embracing a wardrobe that can only sustain itself for a week, integrating weekly pumpkin spice-decaf-soy-iced lattes (if i had more time, I’d harass Starbucks until they added almond milk to their milk options), keeping a clean house, creating our registry, coordinating baby showers, and cuddling up with the J-pillow (see below).

J-Pillow="swank"

When I began this blog, I knew I wanted to document my experience with pregnancy & its impact upon my life–gracefully, humorously, and honestly. So, here’s an honest statement that renders a surprised reaction from me & maybe even from those who know me well: Becoming pregnant is the best event to occur in my life.

There are a medley of events that have normally vied for this distinction, yet they lack what this experience has pressed me to do daily–be honest with who am I and the way I have lived my life. It feels like I cannot go a mere moment without being introspective. I knew immediately that I needed to address the issues that I quietly pushed aside with the hope that they were only a phase in my life. I think many of us face this realization during some time and say, “Yep, I might need some help with this,” as we recognize that the help we need is beyond what we can do for ourselves. Yet, transforming this response into an action involves an inner awareness that we sometimes “hush” when we have a wave of good days. Simply put: I’ve begun integrating therapy into my life. Plush couches & candy jars lure me everytime. šŸ˜‰

Ahhh, the beauty of the journey toward clarity.

One thought on “Mindful Mama

  1. I am glad to hear that the Teeter family is doing well.I can’t wait until little Lucy arrives. I am looking forward to seeing you for D’s wedding! Take care and keep me posted!

    xo

Leave a Reply

