10 + 3

Equals 13 & that’s the week that just passed, friends. Totally keeping up with this blogging thing {gulp}.

Hmm, what to share, what to share?

Work

I always fancied myself to be the breadwinner for my future family. “Girl power” themed songs offer a nice soundtrack as I envision myself, briefcase in hand, walking briskly from meeting to meeting so purposefully. Let us now travel to reality: briefcase is replaced by company-provided messenger bag, business dinners are at my dinner table and the “business” is grading 7007065 homework assignments + essays, & I might blow-dry my hair before work–depends on if I’d rather sleep an extra 20 minutes. With both of us giving relentlessly to the glorious field of education, surviving on a single income would reduce us to one 1/2 notch above living within the poverty bracket—and I would never consider spending more than $40 on any piece of clothing or accessory! This video fairly portrays the outcome of working in the most important, yet most under-appreciated field in the US:

February 28 came way too soon this year. That Monday I made my return to work. The week leading to my return was the winter recess across NY, so I, thankfully, had family time with Lu & Ry. Although we accrued several more hours doing one of our favorite activities–lounging in bed, it made returning more difficult. Hard to reestablish a routine whilst wearing pajamas & using coffee breaks + soiled diapers as the only acceptable excuses to move out of bed.

I was ok with returning to work until Thursday of that week. Starting that Thursday–tears. Lots of them. And the uncomfortable kind that transpires into a ball in the back of your throat and then you cannot speak without sobbing. Plain messy. I’d change Lucy & then cry. I’d cut her nails and cry. I’d see her smile. And cry. And now I know that it wasn’t really the thought of separating from her that made me turn into the “Coffee Talk Lady” {Remember? Mike Myers in drag?} and become vaclemped. It was the idea of resuming a part of my life that leaves me feeling internally conflicted: my job. If anything, I think Lu has enabled me to get that kick in the pants I needed to start an official path toward having the career I want and has moved me to go after opportunities I kinda pushed aside in the past because of having arrived at a strange feeling of “comfort”… even though I wasn’t content. Thanks, Lu.

Career Counselor

Itchy and scratchy

Ugh—this winter has been looooooooooooooooooooong. Baby products, like strollers and baby carriers, leave me craving warmer weather & sunny skies. Now that we have that extra hour of blissful sunlight & somewhat warmer temperatures {The weatherman said a high of 50 today? Where are my shorts?}, I’m developing a routine of an outside activity each day. The stroller {we ended up with the BJ City Mini Elite–super in love} is usually our go-to form of transportation as we roam about the streets in our cozy neighborhood. We attempted the Ergo baby carrier despite not quite meeting the suggested age range & even though I had to lend some support to keep her upright, we shared a happy, casual walk on a Friday afternoon. I bought a MOBY wrap after reading what seemed like 6986464653 reviews proclaiming its beauty. Mmmm…not officially a fan, mostly because the wraps recommended for Lu’s size have her tucked up, facing me & the girl is quite particular about how she likes to be positioned. The times we’ve tried it, Lu burrows her head into my chest & starts sqwaking.

From the mouths of babes

The best thing happened around the middle of week 10: Lucy began to babble. It began as a conversation with her playmat pals, Ollie the Octopus & Peggy Pillar, and has transformed into mini dissertations on everyday topics–her belly button, the Jersey Shore cast, and her family that she has yet to meet. Come back soon for a video of one of her first conversations.

What you want

Are probably photos of the cherub. I shall oblige. We’ll talk soon–I’ve already begun thinking of what to share in another enthralling edition of cheeks-of-rose-and-tiny-toes.

10 wks

 

10 wks

10 wks

11 wks

12 weeks

12 weeks

Someone cut you-know-who's finger when trimming nails

3 thoughts on “10 + 3

  1. You are too much with that video, girlfriend!!

    I am so glad to hear Lu is starting to make babbling noises =) I can not wait to hear them heehee

    I absolutely LOVE all of the pictures of our precious “charub” especially the one of her and her handsome Uncle!

    Can’t wait to see you all soon!
    Love Auntie M =)

    • Auntie M,

      Sounds like we need to visit soon. This lil’ girl is doing all sorts of fun things. But, in true Lucy fashion, she’ll probably just sit & stare at you–or cry–when we visit.

      Looking forward to seeing you soon!

      xxo,
      Ashley

  2. I love reading what u have to say about motherhood. It totally changes your life in so many ways, and to think I’m still doing it. I’m very proud of you and the mother you have become. I love u!! xoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

